Financial Statements 2019 signed

Board of Directors:

Sharon O’Grady- Board President

Sharon is a retired administrator formerly with Hennick Bridgepoint. She brings a wealth of administrative experience and energy to her position with us. Sharon also hosts our Sunday Song Circle at the centre and volunteers for the CCAC at the Delta Bingo hall.

Christopher Achkar -Director

Christopher is an employment, labour, and human rights lawyer practicing in Toronto and the Greater Toronto Area. Christopher assists both employers and employees in all workplace, human resources, and human rights issues.

Brian Morgan – Director

Brian is a retired York University professor and professional musician (violin, guitar, bass, songwriter). He was part of the popular band Jughead. He has supported the Centre for years, playing at our events and donating instruments.

Paul Nash – Director

Paul has a strong background in conflict resolution, organizational development and human resources. He runs workshops and courses at the Academy of Learning. He is also a musician who hosts and performs at open stages in the city.

Beatrice Kabeya- Director

Beatrice is an Educator, Coach, Human Rights Advocate, Community Leader, and Founder and CEO of Imagine Creative Impact Inc. and Voice to Girls

Gillian Beresford- Director

Gillian is a professor in the ESL department at York Univerisity and is a composer and recording artist. She has been part of the Centre’s musical events for years.

Janikka Blair – Director

Janikka is a fitness and nutrition consultant as well as having experience in office managment. Her organizational skills have been a substantial benefit at the CCAC.

Glen Loucks – Executive Director

Glen has been involved with the Centre since 2001. He has demonstrated a tireless commitment to maintaining this essential resource in the face of these challenging times. Glen teaches guitar and piano as well as managing fundraising, IT support, and updating this website.

Advisory Board:

Curtis Armstrong – Chair
Curtis is a Cabbagetown resident and works as a Lawyer Editor with Thompson Reuters. He has made a tremendous contribution to the CCAC since joining us in 2015.

Sarah Patrick- former Executive Director of the CCAC
Sarah Patrick began teaching piano at the CCAC in 1998 – teaching over 40 students a week.  Sarah was Executive Director of the CCAC for over 12 years. She continues on our advisory board to continue her commitment to the students and families of the community that are closest to her heart.  As a former music teacher, Sarah understands the importance of arts and music in a child’s life and the difference that exposure to the arts can make.

Peggy Weir – Past President of the CCAC
Peggy’s love of music developed in childhood.  She trained in classical and modern dance for 10 years.  Her professional background is in broadcasting, notably radio.  She was the first female Program Director in Canada, and was the VP of FM Programming at Rogers for 10 years.  During her time at Rogers, she helped found and establish FACTOR (Foundation to Assist Canadian Talent on Record).  She currently co-owns Weir Media.
A long-time resident of Cabbagetown, Peggy, for many years chaired the Annual Tour of Homes, a signature fundraising event in the community, whose proceeds would go to different charities.  Through the event, she became acquainted with the CCAC who received proceeds from several of the tours.  Upon stepping down from the Tour, Peggy joined the CCAC wanting to continue her community work, more specifically with children and music.  She hopes that she will continue to help strengthen the CCAC through more programming that will serve more children, as well as implementing fundraising structures that will allow the CCAC to be financially healthy.

David Blackmore is a Toronto jazz musician and one of the founders of the CCAC. He has recently been Executive Director of the Cabbagetown Business Improvement Area and polled second in the recent muicipal elections.

Nancy Wigston is a writer from Montreal, and has lived in Toronto, Cambridge (UK) and Penang, Malaysia. She graduated from the University of Toronto with a PhD (“Satire in the Novels of Aldous Huxley”). She taught at the Toronto French School followed by a stint teaching Literary Travel at U of T’s School of Continuing Education. Her credits include travel writer, photographer, reviewer, frequent contributor to The Toronto Star, The National Post, The Medical Post, The Canadian Jewish News, Chatelaine and several other publications. She is a guidebook contributor to Literary Trips: Following in the Footsteps of Fame. In 2006, she was selected for both the long and short list for the Books in Canada/ First Novel Award.

John Campey is Executive Director of the Community Social Planning Council of Toronto. He  taught immigrant children in inner-city Toronto schools for six years. He served two terms as Downtown Trustee on the Toronto Board of Education, focusing on issues of exclusion such as poverty, racism, language, and homophobia. He was a consultant with the International Children’s Institute, and has edited two books of children’s writing and drawing of their experiences in post-war Bosnia. John is currently President of Friends of Community Schools, a small charitable foundation supporting children’s entitlements, and a member of the Strong Neighbourhoods Task Force.

Tania Opperman with her partner Beau runs the House on Parliament restaurant in Cabbagetown. The HOP has been a staunch supporter of the CCAC for many years.

Kathleen Metcalfe is president of McWhinney, Metcalfe & Associates. She has a master’s degree and an advanced diploma in social work, and has studied dispute resolution at Harvard Law School. Kathleen has been a consultant to several professional organizations and holds a variety of professional memberships including the American and Ontario Associations for Marriage and Family Therapy, the Association of Family and Conciliation Courts and the Family Firm Institute. She was a founding board member of the Employee Assistance Association of Metro Toronto.

Here are our Financials for 2020 in PDF form.

2020 Financial Statements signed